Mommy After Midnight

What mommies do after everyone else has gone to bed.

Dressing for Valentine’s Day without looking Contrived

I love dressing in the spirit of the holidays – green on Saint Patrick’s Day, orange and black around Halloween, and yes, I have worn red and green together during the Christmas season. I see it as decorating myself in the spirit of the season. Sometimes, though, I put on my holiday finery and think, “Oh good grief, this looks too tacky.”

I feel that way particularly when I try to dress for Valentine’s Day. I feel so gaudy in bright pink and red. This season, I decided to experiment with one of the traditional colors. After doing some searching for dusty rose outfits on Polyvore, I found and fell in love with this one:

Sweet Valentine's Day
Sweet Valentine’s Day by pippimommy featuring mid-rise jeans

What I love about this outfit is that it still looks classy and romantic without looking obvious. The muted pink is a beautiful compliment to the steel gray that reminds me of the stormy skies we’ve been having this week.

If pink and gray isn’t your thing, then you might try something a little more natural:

I really love how this brown scarfette has bursts of pink in it, and how Grace accented it with feathery eyelash yarn. Unfortunately, this particular scarf is no longer available, but some sellers will recreate items at the request of the customer. She does have a beautiful taupe cowl with an antique rose pin if you’re looking to purchase something now.

What are you wearing for Valentine”s Day? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2013 by in Health and Beauty and tagged , , , .

Tweets from Katie

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

