Mommy After Midnight

What mommies do after everyone else has gone to bed.

February Letter from the Editor: In A Sentimental Mood

February is a sentimental month for me. Besides Valentine’s Day, I have several other wonderful dates to celebrate:

  • February 21, 2003 – the day my husband and I started dating
  • February 8, 2006 – the day my husband proposed
  • February 13, 2012 – the day I found out I was pregnant

My husband and I don’t really celebrate Valentine’s Day anymore since we’ve got so many other wonderful February memories to celebrate instead, but it is still an amorous month for us. Plus, there is nothing that is as cozy as a cold winter’s night snuggled up together with the one you love.

But enough about that. This month I’m going to make a concentrated effort to show everyone just how much they mean to me. And I mean more than just my husband and my baby boy.

I mean even friends, too – all sorts of friends. Best friends, online friends, maybe even my “frenemies,” because everyone deserves love. Sometimes people need to be reminded that they are loved, especially during this time when we seem so focused on declaring our feelings for just one person. Mother Teresa once said, “The most terrible poverty is loneliness, and the feeling of being unloved.” This month, I want to challenge everyone – and most of all, myself – to show love to as many people as I can. Love the people who are difficult to love, who are awkward to love; love the ones who push back, and above all else, I need to love to the ones who I really don’t want to love at all, because more than likely they are the ones who need it most.

Who are you going to love this month? How will you show them that you love them? Connect with me on Facebook, Google+, Twitter, or in the comments.

One comment on “February Letter from the Editor: In A Sentimental Mood

  1. Pingback: It’s February! Time to Party! « Mommy After Midnight

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2013 by in Editor's Desk and tagged , , .

Tweets from Katie

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

