Mommy After Midnight

What mommies do after everyone else has gone to bed.

Broken Heart Syndrome is a Thing

It was November of 2011.

We had just come back from an impromptu weekend visit of our home town, which was 322 miles away. I had just dropped my husband off at campus for the day and was back home, and I was switching between Facebook and tidying up our apartment. I checked up on all of our friends that we had visited.

The longer I looked, the more depressed I became, so I decided to head out for a run. When I got back, I just wasn’t feeling right, and I knew it wasn’t how I normally felt after a run. I was short of breath and felt a tightness in my chest. I thought I was having a panic attack because I realized just how far away from home I was.

Now I’m wondering if I was experiencing broken heart syndrome.

Takotsubo cardiomyopathy, or broken heart syndrome, can feel like a heart attack, but fortunately doesn’t cause lasting damage like a heart attack can. When a person experiences an extremely stressful event, the body responds by releasing adrenaline and other stress hormones, which can become toxic to the muscle. The muscle reacts to these toxins in a way which mimics a heart attack.

Not surprisingly, middle-aged women are the most likely to experience this. Remember the “Just a Little Heart Attack” PSA that the American Heart Association released last year? I guess our hearts just aren’t cut out for all the work we want to do and the love we want to give. Because we ladies are prone to heart disease and other heart conditions, it is important for us to stay healthy. For tips on improving your heart health, take a look at the suggestions provided by the American Heart Association. You can also learn more about broken heart syndrome there, or check out the post about broken heart syndrome on Life Bridge Health Blogs.

One comment on “Broken Heart Syndrome is a Thing

  1. mamacharitywood
    February 11, 2013

    There is an episode of Greys Anatomy where on the same day every year this woman would have cardiac stress appearing as a heart attack and go to the ER for it. At the end of the episode they figure out it’s because on that same day so many years before her neighbor who she was secretly in love with (and he her but they were both married so they were never together) had died and so she basically relived it every year thus causing the cardiac stress every time. Broken Heart Syndrome 😦

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 11, 2013 by in Health and Beauty and tagged , .

Tweets from Katie

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

