Mommy After Midnight

What mommies do after everyone else has gone to bed.

Coils and Braids DIY

Lately there has been a rash of snow where I live, and while I’m used to snow, I’m not used to this much snow! Inspired by the chilly weather and a desire to use up some novelty yarn, I made a yarny coiled scarf.

What you’ll need:

yarn

  • A super bulky chenille-like yarn (I used Yarn Bee Chinchilla)
  • A square scrap of felt
  • A needle and thread that matches the felt color
  • Scissors
1. Cut three yard-length pieces of yarn.

1. Cut three pieces of yarn one yard long.

2. Put a weight on the ends of the three strands and braid them together. Once braid is finished, knot the ends together to make a braided loop.

2. Put a weight on the ends of the three strands and braid them together. Once braid is finished, knot the ends together to make a braided loop.

3. Secure the knot with a few stitches. It doesn't matter if the thread matches the yarn here since it will be covered up later.

3. Secure the knot with a few stitches. It doesn’t matter if the thread matches the yarn here since it will be covered up later.

4. Cut a long length of yarn. I determined my length by wrapping it between my hand and my elbow (like you would wrap sound cables) 10 times.

4. Cut a long length of yarn. I determined my length by wrapping it between my hand and my elbow (like you would wrap sound cables) 10 times. Knot the two ends of this yarn together, and secure with a few sewn stitches if necessary.

5. Cut a small piece of felt, which will be used to cover the knots we have made.

5. Cut a small piece of felt, which will be used to cover the knots we have made. You want it to be small enough so that it stays in place on your coils and won’t shift around.

6. Sew the ends of the square together around the knots.

6. Sew the ends of the square together around the knots.

7. Wear your creation proudly.

7. Wear your creation proudly.

I should have worn a different colored shirt so you could easily see that I like to wear my Coils and Braids with the felt square showing, but it looks just as nice when it’s hidden behind your neck as well. What I really like about Coils and Braids is how warm it keeps your neck, even though it doesn’t completely cover the area. What’s also great about it is that my baby likes the way the texture feels, and I don’t mind him tugging on it. When made with Yarn Bee Chinchilla, you’ll have plenty left over to make a second one for a friend, and since it’s such a quick craft, you can have it turned out in no time! If you use this tutorial, please share your creations! I love to see other’s interpretations.

2 comments on “Coils and Braids DIY

  1. skywaitress
    February 28, 2013

    Oh that is super cute! And it looks simple to do. I may have to try this myself.

    • Katie80
      February 28, 2013

      It is so easy. You don’t even have to make tidy stitches if your thread matches your felt well. I always get hung up on getting my stitches tidy, so hand-sewing usually take me foreverrrrr. But I think I made this in less than thirty minutes!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2013 by in Crafts and tagged , , , , , , .

Tweets from Katie

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

