Mommy After Midnight

What mommies do after everyone else has gone to bed.

Mystery Knit-Along with Barbara Prime

I love knitting, but I love toy knitting most of all. It’s a great stash buster, you don’t have to make a gauge swatch, and … well, look! You end up with something so gosh-darn cute at the end, why wouldn’t you want to take up toy knitting?

One of my favorite toy knitters is Barbara Prime, or fuzzymitten on Ravelry. Her creations are always charming, and her patterns exceptionally well-written. I also love that she welcomes people to sell the items they’ve made with her patterns. Typically, knitting patterns have a stern warning against selling things you make with them, but Barbara would rather do other things than crank out orders.

I do make a few toys to sell now and again, but I’d really rather spend my time designing new patterns, so I don’t feel like anyone selling the toys is my competition. -Barbara Prime

Back in January, she announced a Mystery Knit-Along (or KAL) for a toy that she has not yet published. The first item knit will be the clothes, just to keep the animal a secret for just a little longer. The mystery pattern goes on sale on Ravelry today (March 1st) with updates being added to the pattern weekly. No cheating and knitting ahead!

I’ve never participated in a KAL before, so I’m really excited to start this, and intrigued by the idea of knitting something blindly. I’ll be posting updates on my Facebook and G+ pages, so be sure and check them out!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 1, 2013 by in Crafts and tagged , , , , , .

Tweets from Katie

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

