Mommy After Midnight

What mommies do after everyone else has gone to bed.

Can You Guess Why I’m Hooking?

And the award for most misleading post title goes to….

Whenever crafters find out I can knits, they usually respond with, “Oh my, I never learned how to knit. It’s so much harder than crocheting, don’t you think?” To which I admit with some embarrassment that I don’t know how to crochet.

It’s not that no one has ever tried to teach me. My mom used to crochet a lot back in its heyday in the 70s, and she’s shown me how. Back in high school I had a few friends who would crochet at the end of class, and they tried to teach me – I ended up getting frustrated and going back to cross-stitching, which was the only thing I knew how to do at the time. There just wasn’t much of a desire to learn the ways of the hook for me.

I prefer the look of knitting; specifically, I prefer the look of stockinette, what with it’s smooth V’s. Cables are gorgeous too, though I don’t knit them very often, and I can’t get enough of ribbing. And then there’s fair isle and intarsia … stop me if I’m rambling. Knitting is just prettier to me.

via eclecticmoi on Ravelry

But amigurumis, which are cute stuffed creatures like the Spring Bunny above, are almost exclusively crocheted. Sure, you can find a few thousand amigurumi knitting patterns on Ravelry, but that’s nothing compared to the 11,000+ crochet patterns. And while I love toy knitting, I feel like I should learn how to crochet just so I can have access to some of these patterns.

So since this month is National Crochet Month (along with National Craft Month) I’m going to make myself give crochet a shot. I’ll start off with a simple granny square, and we’ll see where it goes from there. As always, you can view my progress on Google+ and Facebook.

2 comments on “Can You Guess Why I’m Hooking?

  1. skywaitress
    March 13, 2013

    That bunny is so cute! I learned how to both knit and crochet when I was in middle school but I haven’t done it in years. I always liked knitting better but seeing that bunny makes me want to pick up crochet again.

    • Katie80
      March 15, 2013

      That is really cool! I hear from lots of people that they learned knitting and crocheting in school, but our school didn’t have it as part of their curriculum. We did have a “Life Skills” class in 8th grade where we had a brief sewing period, but mostly the teacher wanted us to know how many different knives you should have in your kitchen (something like 12, I think) and which ones did what. :/

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 9, 2013 by in Crafts and tagged .

Tweets from Katie

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

