Mommy After Midnight

What mommies do after everyone else has gone to bed.

My first 5k!

For my first 5k experience, I went with something pretty casual. This wasn’t about how fast you could complete 3.1 miles … it was about having a good time.

glowrun5k

The Glow Run is a 5k event for families and friends of all ages to participate in a fun, glow-in the dark experience.

The Glow Run 5k Run/Walk event is a one of a kind night time experience that is less about how fast you run and more about enjoying the music filled glowing course with your friends and family. For our events, we see participants of all different speeds, ages, shapes, and sizes ready to GLOW. So whether you are a casual walker or an avid runner The Glow Run 5k invites you to come be a part of the fun.
-from the Glow Run website

This was actually supposed to be something Mark and I did together, but then his professor scheduled a master class for that very same night, so I ended up having to go alone. I had Conrad with me in a stroller not meant for running, so I had already made up my mind to walk the entire thing, which made me feel better about the fact that I pretty much gave up on running last month when it just would NOT stop snowing. Because this is supposed to be something fun you do with other people, I felt pretty awkward before the race started. Everyone there had someone to laugh and dance with, and I was alone with a baby in the middle of it. At least we all had our funky-colored shirts on, so I still felt like I belonged in a way. One of the ways I distracted myself was to come up with new color names for the offensively bright shirts we were all wearing.

From left to right: Neon Eyesore Orange (aka "Eyesorange"), Radioactive Highlighter Yellow, and Acid 80s Pink edited from their Facebook page

From left to right: Neon Eyesore Orange (aka “Eyesorange”), Radioactive Highlighter Yellow, and Acid 80s Pink
edited from their Facebook page

I put all of that out of my mind and focused on getting through the 5k once the actual event started. It ended up being easier to do than I thought it would be because I had to navigate a few rough patches with a clunky stroller. If you’ve never participated in a 5k before, the distance can be a little daunting – there was a part were I specifically remember thinking “Have I seriously not reached the half-way point yet?!” – but it’s not impossible, even for the most out-of-shape person. You just have to decide you’re going to do it, and go for it!

The route was laid out so that you went about halfway, looped around a building, and started heading back on the same path you were on. While this was probably the easiest to set up since it kept us from having to cross some busy intersections, it also meant that when people would see their office mates on the way back, they would turn around and catch up with them instead of completing the entire route. This isn’t a big deal in the grand scheme of things, especially since it wasn’t a race, but it still bugged me. As a friend said, “Why do it if you’re not going to actually do it?” Regardless, I still had a pretty good time, especially considering I was alone.

At the end of the race they give you a participation medal, which is nothing to scoff at. The thing is pretty heavy, and is about the size of my palm. They also handed out water bottles. Supposedly there was a beer garden event too, but I was ready to go meet up with Mark (who was still in the master class) so I left pretty quickly. It started raining as I was putting Conrad in the car, so I bet a lot of other people left too.

_GSH2989-XL

See? I crossed the finish line!
via

The event was $30 a piece for Mark and I to enter, but they don’t offer refunds so I wasn’t able to recoup his entry fee. We did go ahead and pick up a shirt for him, which I draped over Conrad like a blanket. All in all, I would do this event again if I had someone else there with me – even if they didn’t run but just hung out with me before and after the race – but considering we’re about to move this summer to a state that’s never hosted a Glow Run, I probably won’t participate in it again. I’ve also decided that I need to save up some money and get a jogging stroller if I’m going to keep running with Conrad. I liked having him there, so I hope I can find more races where he can tag along.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 11, 2013 by in Health and Beauty and tagged , , .

Tweets from Katie

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

