Mommy After Midnight

What mommies do after everyone else has gone to bed.

LCD Screen Cleaner

I had great plans for April. I was going to do a whole series on spring cleaning and provide some great tips and talk about homemade cleaners and all that. And then March ended and I was like “Whew! Now I can take a breath.”

This has been a month-long breath.

Well, at least on the blog side of things. I’ve started packing up a lot of my belongings because we’re moving in with my husband’s parents after he graduates – just until we get a few paychecks under our belt, thank goodness. Grad school was expensive, y’all.

Anyway, that’s beside the point. I do have one cleaner that I make myself, and it’s so stinkin’ easy you’ll wonder why you haven’t done it yet.

Have you noticed little spots on your screen? What about streaks on your streaks on your smart phone? Particles on your iPad? This two-ingredient cleaner will wipe those right up, and if you don’t already have them on hand, they’re really cheap and easy to get.

distilledwatermistingbottleisopropyl_alcohol

What you need:

  • An empty misting bottle
  • Distilled water
  • Clear isopropyl alcohol (70%)
  • Microfiber cleaning cloth

Before we get started, I need to address the use of isopropyl in this cleaner. Some manufacturers warn against using alcohol to clean their screens because of the oleophobic coating on them. I’ve heard you can use plain vinegar instead, but it takes longer to dry and after wiping it you might need to give it another spritz of distilled water to wipe off the residue. Personally, I use the isopropyl version to clean my TV, my laptop, my Nintendo DSi … the list goes on and on. I haven’t had any problems with it, but you should always test in a small corner before going to town on the full screen.

Also, the water must be distilled! Other types of water still have minerals in them which will leave streaks on your screen.

How to make it:

  • Fill the bottle with one part isopropyl alcohol.
  • Next, add one part distilled water.
  • Shake lightly to mix.

No, seriously, that’s all it is. When you’re ready to clean, just spray a little on your microfiber cleaning cloth (never spray anything directly on the screen) and wipe!

Alright, now it’s your turn! Tell me your favorite homemade cleaners in the comments, on Facebook, G+, or Twitter!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2013 by in Home and tagged , , , .

Tweets from Katie

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

